Team

Prof. Holger Wormer

TU Dortmund
Principal Investigator
holger.wormer@tu-dortmund.de

Good science and good journalism are ultimately very similar – if you bring them together systematically, as the RRC does, the odds are also in favour of better science communication.

Prof. Dr. Julika Griem

KWI Essen
Principal Investigator
julika.griem@kwi-nrw.de

Science communication is not a package delivery service. We need a more differentiated knowledge of science to deal with the vagaries and ambiguities of its communication.

Prof. Dr. David Kaldewey

Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (FIW), Universität Bonn
Principal Investigator
kaldewey@uni-bonn.de

As a sociologist of science, I am interested in the question of how different actors can make good decisions in the face of complex problems and multiple scientific facts.

Prof. Dr. Oliver Ruf

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Principal Investigator
oliver.ruf@h-brs.de

For me, science communication research implies aesthetic questions. As I specialise in Media Cultural Studies and Design Theory, I am interested in answering them.

Dr. Laura Morris

TU Dortmund
Managing Director
laura.morris@tu-dortmund.de

In addition to the overall coordination of the RRC, it is my concern as a literary scholar to strengthen the transfer of knowledge from the Social Sciences and Humanities to journalism through the RRC’s quality circles.

Franco Zotta

WPK
Cooperation Partner
franco.zotta@wpk.org

I work for the WPK, the German Science Journalists’ Association. For some time now, this has meant first and foremost: securing the future of quality journalism in times of crisis.

Volker Stollorz

Science Media Center
Cooperation Partner
volker.stollorz@sciencemediacenter.de

As one of the RRC’s cooperation partners, the SMC will develop quality criteria through two quality circles that will enable journalists to communicate relevant and robust research findings from the Humanities and Social Sciences.

Dr. Pascal Berger

Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (FIW), Universität Bonn
Postdoc
pascal.berger@uni-bonn.de

I research the Corona pandemic with a special focus on knowledge selection: What knowledge do the media, politics, law and science resort to – and what patterns can be discerned?

Dr. Martina Franzen

KWI Essen
Postdoc
martina.franzen@kwi-nrw.de

Science communication is more than just providing information. Creative approaches are needed to make research findings from Science Studies more usable for different target groups.

Andreas Sieß

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Postdoc
andreas.siess@h-brs.de

As a designer, I am interested in the aesthetics of science communication – to what extent do techniques and tools rub off on the articulations of science?

Frauke Domgörgen

Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (FIW), Universität Bonn
Doctoral Student
fdomgoer@uni-bonn.de

How do identity concepts, digital communication structures and discursive spaces of possibility influence science communication? I am dedicated to answering this question.

Tobias Kreutzer

TU Dortmund
Doctoral Student
tobias2.kreutzer@tu-dortmund.de

Good science communication does not view science monolithically. Disciplinary approaches and especially impulses from the Social Sciences hold the key to a paradigm shift.

Sarah Tober

KWI Essen
Doctoral Student
sarah.tober@kwi-nrw.de

I am interested in a cultural studies perspective on science communication that looks at forms and narratives.

Aleksandra Vujadinovic 

Hochschule Bonn-Rhein-Sieg
Doctoral Student
aleksandra.vujadinovic@h-brs.de

I examine the mutual fabrication of people and technology to identify risks and opportunities of existing and future media, forms and formats.

Hendrik Boldt 

Science Media Center Germany
Researcher in Residence
hendrik.boldt@sciencemediacenter.de

As Researcher in Residence at SMC, I investigate how Sociology and Philosophy can contribute to public discourse and how journalism can make these disciplines more visible as sciences.

Dr. Stefan Priester

Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (FIW), Universität Bonn
Postdoc
stefan.priester@uni-bonn.de

Arguing from a differentiation-theoretical perspective, I use the example of science podcasts to examine the digitalisation of communication and its consequences.

Emma Lehmkuhl

TU Dortmund
Student Assistant
emma.lehmkuhl@tu-dortmund.de

Science journalism must not only communicate research results, but also the underlying methods and knowledge gains – and that is for different disciplines.